ambiguity

November 5, 2008

Line.

Filed under: Belles lettres — theinkhorn @ 7:07 pm

I’m sitting in a booth inside Jerry’s. My half-eaten plate of ribs is still on the table, my wine glass is empty and I’m feeling very bored. Thomas is with me and he’s still munching on his ribs. I didn’t feel like eating alone and Thomas was closest to me in terms of physical distance.

“Let’s go party man. Its saturday.”

Thomas looks at me like I’m an idiot.

“I’m on call tonight.”

“Oh come on wuss. Lets go see who gets the most numbers.”

Thomas drops his fork all of a sudden, picks up his napkin and wipes his mouth with it. He stares at me with those beady eyes of his.

“What are you, from 90-fucking-210? You’re not 25 anymore. Jesus Christ, grow up.”

He picks up his fork and continues gnawing on his ribs. I stare at him for awhile, then when i realise he’s not looking up, i turn my attention to the waitress who’s attending to the people sitting in the next booth. Long brown hair, hour glass figure, and an ass to die for. I call her over after deciding to try my luck. As she approaches, i notice her name tag is crooked. She’s a few metres away from me when i finally realise what her name tag spells and i feel like screaming.

“Yes sir?”

My mouth is gaping, my eyes are wide open and I’m starting to sweat all over.

“Sir?”

“Henry, what the hell do you want?”

“Sir? Are you alright?”

Voices. Loud. Keep them away.

“Its alright miss, he’s being a jackass.”

She turns away and starts to walk off. Her name tag is on the floor. She doesn’t realise its fallen off. I snap out of my trance, bend down and pick it up. I hold it in my hands, read the name again and squeeze it so tight the pin penetrates my skin and lodges itself into my flesh but i don’t care because the pain is the only thing stopping me from screaming out her name. Andrea.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

