ambiguity

January 17, 2010

Respect

Filed under: Uncategorized — theinkhorn @ 3:12 pm

This article from the Temasek Review on an accounts executive from Myanmar who required English class has garnered over 400 comments, which I understand, is rather remarkable.

Check the article out and experience the blind nationalism that is the pride of Myanmar. If it’s one thing I’ve always admired about countries like Myanmar and Vietnam, it is the ability of their people to remain loyal to their country no matter how messed up it is, and consistently defend it from insults.

Would we do that? I’m not sure I would. If someone came up to me and told me how ridiculous the Merlion looks, I’d probably hi-five him. If someone came up to me and told me how lazy Singaporeans are, I’d shake his hand. If someone came up to me and told me that Singaporeans are crotchally impaired… Oh that’s a tricky one.

The point is, if you’re going to defend your country, make sure you don’t look like an idiot along the way. If what is said about your country is true and supported with statistics and articles, don’t just stand there and go “no.. that’s wrong”.

To be fair, Singaporeans have been incredibly aggressive within that thread, which I presume is to provide sufficient rebuttal. I disagree, however, with certain methods employed. One must first understand the art of rebuttal. It is not enough to simply call someone a moron. It is accepted, however, if you call someone a moron and then provide reasons and facts confirming that said person is indeed, intellectually challenged. Similarly, Myanmar nationals, instead of issuing threats(which i understand did happen) or attempting the play down Singapore’s importance by claiming that you don’t actually want to be here, use facts and logic. Though I understand that since your command of English is… let’s say below average, you may have some trouble. I’d also like to applaud Singaporeans for being the bigger people: Not picking on their English as much as I would have.

Alas, we are but one people under the rule of dictatorship, slaves of tyranny. The debate on who should go where and who should stay where they are is not invalid, but I’m not sure I’m ready for a full scale District 6 clean up. I say to Singaporeans, live and let live. And to the foreign talent, I say remember your place. Remember that in spite of what you believe, you are guests in this country. Despite that PR status or S pass, you are still guests.  A little respect will go a long way.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

